Select Page

IATF 16949 2016 Structure

IATF 16949:2016 is the latest revision of TS/ISO 16949 international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). IATF 16949 is based off of ISO 9001 with supplementary requirements. To make it easier for organizations to understand the unique requirements of IATF 16949 from ISO 9001, all supplementary requirements for the Automotive Industry (IATF 16949) will be in italics. 

The requirements are contained within seven clauses:

This Automotive QMS standard defines the quality management system requirements for the design and development, production and if relevant to your organization, relevant, assembly, installation, and services of automotive-related products, such as products with embedded software. 

Organizations will get certified to this standard in order to demonstrate their ability to provide consistent products and services that meet customer, statutory and regulatory requirements. Certification is granted by accredited certification bodies (registrars) that will audit an organization at planned intervals to confirm conformance to IATF 16949, which also means ISO 9001.

The 2016 revision has replaced TS/ISO 16949.


Our All-in-One Certification Package is a proven, efficient system. It gives you all you need to prepare for registration – in one simple to use package.

Customer Review:

"I have just passed my Audit with zero non-conformances for the second year in a row using your products to write my entire QMS. Thank you for producing documents of this quality"

Bettye Patrick

Buy the Standard

16949 Store Logo  IATF 16949